MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#50
Miguel Castro
ERA S K
3.53 0 38
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-7 / 203
Position: RPBorn: 12/24/1994 Birthplace: La Romana, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Blue Jays (2012)


Latest News
Oct. 1 12:20 AM PT1:20 AM MT2:20 AM CT3:20 AM ET3:20 ET7:20 GMT15:20 12:20 AM MST2:20 AM EST2:50 AM VEN11:20 UAE2:20 AM CT-Miguel Castro fell to 3-3, allowing three runs on six hits and one walk in 3.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Saturday. Castro struck out three, ending the game with a 3.53 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castro was a capable long reliever for the Orioles this season, but wasn't as effective while making his lone start of 2017 in this one. He won't hold much fantasy potential if he reprises his usual role next year.
Sep. 22 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 2.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-3 on Friday. Castro did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 18 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)10:55 PM CT-Miguel Castro fell to 3-2, allowing two runs on one hit and three walks in 1.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 10-8 on Monday. Castro struck out two, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castro has been scored upon in five straight appearances, posting a 9.39 ERA.
Sep. 16 9:33 PM PT10:33 PM MT11:33 PM CT12:33 AM ET0:33 ET4:33 GMT12:33 9:33 PM MST11:33 PM EST12:03 AM VEN8:33 UAE11:33 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed three runs - two earned - on two hits and one walk in 1.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 8-2 on Friday. Castro did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.05 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The major leagues' most-used reliever in the second half of the season, Castro has allowed runs in four straight appearances.
Sep. 11 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one run on two hits in 2.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-3 on Monday. Castro struck out three, ending the game with a 2.83 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one run on one hit and three walks in 1.0 inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-0 on Friday. Castro struck out one, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 3:33 PM PT4:33 PM MT5:33 PM CT6:33 PM ET18:33 ET22:33 GMT6:33 3:33 PM MST5:33 PM EST6:03 PM VEN2:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed two runs on zero hits and three walks in 1.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 7-4 on Monday. Castro did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.65 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 10:39 PM PT11:39 PM MT12:39 AM CT1:39 AM ET1:39 ET5:39 GMT13:39 10:39 PM MST12:39 AM EST1:09 AM VEN9:39 UAE12:39 AM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 1-0 on Friday. Castro struck out one, ending the game with a 2.38 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castro has now thrown 15 1/3 scoreless innings over his last six appearances and has posted a 0.85 WHIP during that stretch. Long relievers generally have little if any fantasy value, but he's doing his best to be an exception.
Aug. 30 6:39 PM PT7:39 PM MT8:39 PM CT9:39 PM ET21:39 ET1:39 GMT9:39 6:39 PM MST8:39 PM EST9:09 PM VEN5:39 UAE (+1)8:39 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 3.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Seattle Mariners 8-7 on Wednesday. Castro struck out one, ending the game with a 2.47 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castro has been an unsung hero for the Orioles, working 13 1/3 scoreless innings in his last five appearances.
Aug. 27 3:18 PM PT4:18 PM MT5:18 PM CT6:18 PM ET18:18 ET22:18 GMT6:18 3:18 PM MST5:18 PM EST5:48 PM VEN2:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Miguel Castro walked three and didn't allow a hit in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Boston Red Sox 2-1 on Sunday. Castro struck out two, ending the game with a 2.64 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 6:24 PM PT7:24 PM MT8:24 PM CT9:24 PM ET21:24 ET1:24 GMT9:24 6:24 PM MST8:24 PM EST8:54 PM VEN5:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Miguel Castro improved to 3-1, allowing two hits and one walk over 3.2 scoreless innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-7 on Wednesday. Castro struck out three, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 10:00 PM PT11:00 PM MT12:00 AM CT1:00 AM ET1:00 ET5:00 GMT13:00 10:00 PM MST12:00 AM EST12:30 AM VEN9:00 UAE12:00 AM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-1 on Saturday. Castro struck out two, ending the game with a 2.98 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 8:43 PM PT9:43 PM MT10:43 PM CT11:43 PM ET23:43 ET3:43 GMT11:43 8:43 PM MST10:43 PM EST11:13 PM VEN7:43 UAE (+1)10:43 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Los Angeles Angels 9-7 on Friday. Castro struck out one, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 9:50 AM PT10:50 AM MT11:50 AM CT12:50 PM ET12:50 ET16:50 GMT0:50 9:50 AM MST11:50 AM EST12:20 PM VEN20:50 UAE11:50 AM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Seattle Mariners 11-3 on Monday. Castro struck out three, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 9:40 AM PT10:40 AM MT11:40 AM CT12:40 PM ET12:40 ET16:40 GMT0:40 9:40 AM MST11:40 AM EST12:10 PM VEN20:40 UAE11:40 AM CT-Miguel Castro allowed two runs on three hits in 0.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Oakland Athletics 12-5 on Saturday. Castro did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)7:03 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one run on two hits in 2.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-1 on Wednesday. Castro did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.83 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 7:35 AM PT8:35 AM MT9:35 AM CT10:35 AM ET10:35 ET14:35 GMT22:35 7:35 AM MST9:35 AM EST10:05 AM VEN18:35 UAE9:35 AM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Detroit Tigers 7-5 on Thursday. Castro struck out two, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
July 30 5:57 PM PT6:57 PM MT7:57 PM CT8:57 PM ET20:57 ET0:57 GMT8:57 5:57 PM MST7:57 PM EST8:27 PM VEN4:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed two runs on one hit in 0.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Texas Rangers 10-6 on Sunday. Castro struck out two, ending the game with a 3.33 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
July 25 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Tuesday. Castro did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
July 23 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET22:56 GMT6:56 3:56 PM MST5:56 PM EST6:26 PM VEN2:56 UAE (+1)5:56 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Houston Astros 9-7 on Sunday. Castro did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
July 21 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Miguel Castro did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Houston Astros 8-7 on Friday. Castro did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.04 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
July 20 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Miguel Castro improved to 2-1, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Texas Rangers 9-7 on Thursday. Castro struck out one, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 18 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Miguel Castro did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Texas Rangers 12-1 on Tuesday. Castro struck out one, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 15 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed two runs on five hits in 3.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago Cubs 10-3 on Saturday. Castro struck out one, ending the game with a 3.66 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
July 9 5:20 PM PT6:20 PM MT7:20 PM CT8:20 PM ET20:20 ET0:20 GMT8:20 5:20 PM MST7:20 PM EST7:50 PM VEN4:20 UAE (+1)7:20 PM CT-Miguel Castro did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Minnesota Twins 11-5 on Sunday. Castro struck out one, ending the game with a 3.31 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
July 8 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Miguel Castro fell to 1-1, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Minnesota Twins 9-6 on Friday. Castro did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
July 5 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Miguel Castro walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-0 on Wednesday. Castro did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 4 5:58 PM PT6:58 PM MT7:58 PM CT8:58 PM ET20:58 ET0:58 GMT8:58 5:58 PM MST7:58 PM EST8:28 PM VEN4:58 UAE (+1)7:58 PM CT-Miguel Castro did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-2 on Tuesday. Castro struck out one, ending the game with a 3.14 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
June 30 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-4 on Friday. Castro struck out one, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 23 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)9:54 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed three runs - one earned - on two hits and one walk in 2.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 15-5 on Friday. Castro struck out two, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
June 22 8:22 AM PT9:22 AM MT10:22 AM CT11:22 AM ET11:22 ET15:22 GMT23:22 8:22 AM MST10:22 AM EST10:52 AM VEN19:22 UAE10:22 AM CT-Miguel Castro allowed two runs on five hits in 0.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-1 on Wednesday. Castro did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.32 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
June 20 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Miguel Castro improved to 1-0, allowing no hits over 0.2 scoreless innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Cleveland Indians 6-5 on Tuesday. Castro struck out one, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
June 18 4:13 PM PT5:13 PM MT6:13 PM CT7:13 PM ET19:13 ET23:13 GMT7:13 4:13 PM MST6:13 PM EST6:43 PM VEN3:13 UAE (+1)6:13 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 8-5 on Sunday. Castro did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
June 15 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-2 on Thursday. Castro struck out two, ending the game with a 1.42 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
June 13 8:25 AM PT9:25 AM MT10:25 AM CT11:25 AM ET11:25 ET15:25 GMT23:25 8:25 AM MST10:25 AM EST10:55 AM VEN19:25 UAE10:25 AM CT-Miguel Castro allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago White Sox 10-7 on Monday. Castro did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 18 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Miguel Castro walked three and didn't allow a hit in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Detroit Tigers 6-5 on Thursday. Castro did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-The Baltimore Orioles acquired Castro from the Colorado Rockies for a player to be named or cash on Friday.
Analysis: Colorado designated Castro for assignment on Sunday in order to make room for local kid Kyle Freeland, who started the Rockies' home opener against the Los Angeles Dodgers on Friday. The 22-year-old Castro has allowed 22 earned runs over 32 1/3 innings with the Rockies and Toronto Blue Jays.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Tor 0 2 4 - 6 13 0 0 12.1 15 7 6 2 6 2 12 1.70 4.38
2015 Col 0 1 0 - 0 5 0 0 5.1 6 6 6 2 4 0 6 1.88 10.13
2015 Tot 0 3 4 - 6 18 0 0 17.2 21 13 12 4 10 2 18 1.75 6.11
2016 Col 0 0 0 - 1 19 0 0 14.2 18 10 10 3 5 0 12 1.57 6.14
2017 Bal 3 3 0 - 0 39 1 0 66.1 53 29 26 8 28 4 38 1.22 3.53
Career 3 6 4 - 7 76 1 0 98.2 92 52 48 15 43 6 68 1.37 4.38



Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 633 100 90 95.6 61.28
Slider 284 91 78 84.5 27.49
Changeup 116 90 83 86.5 11.23

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.


Home | Weather | Local | Nation Now | Traffic | Sports | Features | About | Video | Yourtake | Facebook | Submit Photos & Video | Contact Us

All rights reserved. Users of this site agree to the Terms of Service, Privacy Notice/Your California Privacy Rights, and Ad Choices