MLB

#26
Brad Boxberger
ERA S K
3.38 0 40
Team: ArizonaHt / Wt: 6-2 / 205 NFBC ADP: 531.59
Position: RPBorn: 5/27/1988 Birthplace: Fullerton, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Reds (2009)


Latest News
Oct. 1 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Brad Boxberger did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-0 on Sunday. Boxberger struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 29 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Brad Boxberger improved to 4-4, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-0 on Friday. Boxberger struck out one, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 26 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Brad Boxberger allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 6-1 on Tuesday. Boxberger struck out one, ending the game with a 3.62 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 22 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-Brad Boxberger walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-3 on Friday. Boxberger struck out three, ending the game with a 3.76 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 10:38 PM PT11:38 PM MT12:38 AM CT1:38 AM ET1:38 ET5:38 GMT13:38 10:38 PM MST12:38 AM EST1:08 AM VEN9:38 UAE12:38 AM CT-Brad Boxberger allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 13-6 on Friday. Boxberger struck out two, ending the game with a 3.91 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Brad Boxberger allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 3-2 on Wednesday. Boxberger struck out one, ending the game with a 4.07 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Brad Boxberger allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 9-0 on Saturday. Boxberger struck out three, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Brad Boxberger allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Minnesota Twins 10-6 on Wednesday. Boxberger did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.43 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 10:55 PM PT11:55 PM MT12:55 AM CT1:55 AM ET1:55 ET5:55 GMT13:55 10:55 PM MST12:55 AM EST1:25 AM VEN9:55 UAE12:55 AM CT-Brad Boxberger allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-4 on Saturday. Boxberger struck out four, ending the game with a 4.22 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 30 12:23 PM PT1:23 PM MT2:23 PM CT3:23 PM ET15:23 ET19:23 GMT3:23 12:23 PM MST2:23 PM EST2:53 PM VEN23:23 UAE2:23 PM CT-Brad Boxberger allowed two runs on one hit and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-2 on Tuesday. Boxberger struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Brad Boxberger allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 2-0 on Thursday. Boxberger did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-Brad Boxberger allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-1 on Friday. Boxberger struck out two, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Brad Boxberger allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1 on Monday. Boxberger did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.76 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Brad Boxberger did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-0 on Friday. Boxberger did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.14 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Brad Boxberger did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 8-2 on Wednesday. Boxberger struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 8:19 AM PT9:19 AM MT10:19 AM CT11:19 AM ET11:19 ET15:19 GMT23:19 8:19 AM MST10:19 AM EST10:49 AM VEN19:19 UAE10:19 AM CT-Brad Boxberger improved to 3-3, allowing no hits over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros 5-3 on Thursday. Boxberger struck out three, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 9:10 PM PT10:10 PM MT11:10 PM CT12:10 AM ET0:10 ET4:10 GMT12:10 9:10 PM MST11:10 PM EST11:40 PM VEN8:10 UAE11:10 PM CT-Brad Boxberger allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Houston Astros 14-7 on Monday. Boxberger struck out one, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
July 27 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Brad Boxberger allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 6-5 on Thursday. Boxberger did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
July 26 12:46 PM PT1:46 PM MT2:46 PM CT3:46 PM ET15:46 ET19:46 GMT3:46 12:46 PM MST2:46 PM EST3:16 PM VEN23:46 UAE2:46 PM CT-Brad Boxberger allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-1 on Wednesday. Boxberger struck out two, ending the game with a 4.32 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 23 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Brad Boxberger fell to 2-2, allowing three runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Texas Rangers 6-5 on Sunday. Boxberger struck out two, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Boxberger, who came in with a 1.42 ERA, gave up a walk, then a two-run tying homer and a go-ahead solo shot in the eighth.
July 21 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Brad Boxberger fell to 2-1, allowing one run on one hit and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Texas Rangers 4-3 on Friday. Boxberger did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.42 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
July 15 8:26 AM PT9:26 AM MT10:26 AM CT11:26 AM ET11:26 ET15:26 GMT23:26 8:26 AM MST10:26 AM EST10:56 AM VEN19:26 UAE10:26 AM CT-Brad Boxberger improved to 2-0, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Los Angeles Angels 2-1 on Friday. Boxberger did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.60 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The former closer's return from a three-month absence caused by a lat strain has gone exceptionally well so far. In five appearances since coming off the DL, Boxberger has hit to allow a hit in five scoreless innings while notching a pair of wins and two holds.
July 9 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Brad Boxberger improved to 1-0, allowing no hits and two walks over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-3 on Sunday. Boxberger struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
July 7 8:46 AM PT9:46 AM MT10:46 AM CT11:46 AM ET11:46 ET15:46 GMT23:46 8:46 AM MST10:46 AM EST11:16 AM VEN19:46 UAE10:46 AM CT-Brad Boxberger did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-1 on Thursday. Boxberger struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.33 WHIP on the season.
July 4 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Brad Boxberger walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-5 on Tuesday. Boxberger struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
June 30 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Brad Boxberger did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless innings in his season debut as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-4 on Friday. Boxberger struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 20 9:38 AM PT10:38 AM MT11:38 AM CT12:38 PM ET12:38 ET16:38 GMT0:38 9:38 AM MST11:38 AM EST12:08 PM VEN20:38 UAE10:38 AM CT-Boxberger (right flexor strain) has been activated from the DL and is in the bullpen for Thursday's game against Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Boxberger has yet to pitch this season. He went 4-3 with a 4.81 ERA in 27 appearances for the Rays last season after saving 41 games in 2015.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 SD 0 0 0 - 0 24 0 0 27.2 22 12 8 3 18 1 33 1.45 2.60
2013 SD 0 1 1 - 1 18 0 0 22.0 19 9 7 3 13 0 24 1.45 2.86
2014 TB 5 2 2 - 5 63 0 0 64.2 34 17 17 9 20 0 104 0.84 2.37
2015 TB 4 10 41 - 47 69 0 0 63.0 54 29 26 9 32 5 74 1.37 3.71
2016 TB 4 3 0 - 3 27 0 0 24.1 23 13 13 3 19 1 22 1.73 4.81
2017 TB 4 4 0 - 2 30 0 0 29.1 23 11 11 4 11 3 40 1.16 3.38
Career 17 20 44 - 58 231 0 0 231.0 175 91 82 31 113 10 297 1.25 3.19

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 SD 24 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 SD 18 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 TB 63 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 231 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 328 95 85 89.6 65.6
Slider 59 90 79 82.5 11.8
Changeup 113 83 77 75.5 22.6


@STATS_Insights