MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#31
Ubaldo Jiménez
ERA W-L K
6.81 6-11 139
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-5 / 210 NFBC ADP: 643.22
Position: SPBorn: 1/22/1984 Birthplace: Nagua, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Rockies (2001)


Latest News
Sep. 22 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez fell to 6-11, allowing six runs on eight hits in 3.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-3 on Friday. Jimenez struck out three, ending the game with a 6.81 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Jimenez likely pitched his final home game with the Orioles following a rocky four-year stint. The right-hander's only winning season with the Orioles came in 2015, when he went 12-10, and he's 32-42 overall with Baltimore.
Sep. 18 12:10 AM PT1:10 AM MT2:10 AM CT3:10 AM ET3:10 ET7:10 GMT15:10 12:10 AM MST2:10 AM EST2:40 AM VEN11:10 UAE2:10 AM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez improved to 6-10, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the New York Yankees 6-4 on Sunday. Jimenez struck out 10, ending the game with a 6.57 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Jimenez turned back the clock a bit by putting together one of his best outings of the season and earning his first victory since Aug. 6. Whether the unpredictable righty can duplicate the feat when he next faces the Rays at home Friday is anyone's guess, though.
Sep. 11 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez fell to 5-10, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-3 on Monday. Jimenez struck out five, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Jimenez is 0-3 with a 9.27 ERA in his last five starts.
Sep. 6 8:03 AM PT9:03 AM MT10:03 AM CT11:03 AM ET11:03 ET15:03 GMT23:03 8:03 AM MST10:03 AM EST10:33 AM VEN19:03 UAE10:03 AM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the New York Yankees 7-6 on Tuesday. Jimenez struck out one, ending the game with a 6.80 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 30 4:55 PM PT5:55 PM MT6:55 PM CT7:55 PM ET19:55 ET23:55 GMT7:55 4:55 PM MST6:55 PM EST7:25 PM VEN3:55 UAE (+1)6:55 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez allowed six runs on six hits and one walk in 2.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Seattle Mariners 8-7 on Wednesday. Jimenez struck out three, ending the game with a 6.85 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez fell to 5-9, allowing five runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Oakland Athletics 6-4 on Tuesday. Jimenez struck out four, ending the game with a 6.57 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Jimenez's dreadful season continued as he allowed three more homers to raise his total to 29, which ranks among the worst in the majors.
Aug. 16 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)7:33 PM CT-Jimenez fell to 5-8, allowing six runs on eight hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-6 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Jimenez struck out two, ending the game with a 6.47 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 10:00 AM PT11:00 AM MT12:00 PM CT1:00 PM ET13:00 ET17:00 GMT1:00 10:00 AM MST12:00 PM EST12:30 PM VEN21:00 UAE12:00 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez allowed three runs on six hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Oakland Athletics 5-4 on Friday. Jimenez struck out 11, ending the game with a 6.25 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He left the game after being hit on the lower right leg by a hard ground ball that went for a single. After being examined by a trainer, Jimenez limped off the field to the dugout with a 4-3 lead. "It's good," Jimenez said of his leg. "I was lucky it didn't get any bones or anything. Got me in the side of the calf. It got me in the same spot where I got hit in Minnesota the last day before the All-Star break, so it wasn't 100 percent pain-f
Aug. 6 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez improved to 5-7, allowing one run on nine hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Detroit Tigers 12-3 on Sunday. Jimenez struck out six, ending the game with a 6.31 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The right-hander was solid again, giving him a 1.93 ERA in his last three starts. He won for the first time since July 9.
July 31 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Kansas City Royals 2-1 on Monday. Jimenez struck out six, ending the game with a 6.56 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Jimenez has consecutive quality starts for the first time this season, allowing three runs and eight hits over 13 innings with four walks and 15 strikeouts. He entered those outings with a 7.19 ERA.
July 26 12:46 PM PT1:46 PM MT2:46 PM CT3:46 PM ET15:46 ET19:46 GMT3:46 12:46 PM MST2:46 PM EST3:16 PM VEN23:46 UAE2:46 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez fell to 4-7, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-1 on Wednesday. Jimenez struck out nine, ending the game with a 6.93 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Jimenez gave up nine runs and didn't make it through the third inning at Tampa just a month ago, and he'd surrendered 21 hits over nine innings in his last two starts.
July 21 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez fell to 4-6, allowing six runs on 10 hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Houston Astros 8-7 on Friday. Jimenez struck out five, ending the game with a 7.19 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: In four starts this month, he's yielded 21 runs and 31 hits over 19 innings.
July 16 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Jimenez fell to 4-5, allowing six runs on 11 hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago Cubs 8-0 on Sunday. Jimenez struck out two, ending the game with a 7.01 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: With another rough outing, Jimenez could be headed to the bullpen.
July 9 5:20 PM PT6:20 PM MT7:20 PM CT8:20 PM ET20:20 ET0:20 GMT8:20 5:20 PM MST7:20 PM EST7:50 PM VEN4:20 UAE (+1)7:20 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez improved to 4-4, allowing four runs on four hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Minnesota Twins 11-5 on Sunday. Jimenez struck out three, ending the game with a 6.67 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
July 4 5:58 PM PT6:58 PM MT7:58 PM CT8:58 PM ET20:58 ET0:58 GMT8:58 5:58 PM MST7:58 PM EST8:28 PM VEN4:58 UAE (+1)7:58 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez fell to 3-4, allowing five runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-2 on Tuesday. Jimenez struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.64 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Jimenez pitched two-hit ball over eight shutout innings at Toronto in his previous start. He isn't fantasy material at this point.
June 30 7:32 AM PT8:32 AM MT9:32 AM CT10:32 AM ET10:32 ET14:32 GMT22:32 7:32 AM MST9:32 AM EST10:02 AM VEN18:32 UAE9:32 AM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez improved to 3-3, allowing two hits and one walk over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 2-0 on Thursday. Jimenez struck out eight, ending the game with a 6.48 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Jimenez's stellar performance was hard to envision after he was hammered for nine runs in 2 1/3 innings by the Rays in his previous start. It's hard to know what to expect from the unpredictable right-hander when he next takes the mound Tuesday in Milwaukee.
June 23 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez fell to 2-3, allowing nine runs on seven hits and four walks in 2.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 15-5 on Friday. Jimenez struck out one, ending the game with a 7.26 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Jimenez had his shortest start of the season and lasted less than five innings for the sixth time in 10 starts. He has two quality starts in those 10 outings, and yet somehow keeps getting chances to pitch.
June 18 4:33 PM PT5:33 PM MT6:33 PM CT7:33 PM ET19:33 ET23:33 GMT7:33 4:33 PM MST6:33 PM EST7:03 PM VEN3:33 UAE (+1)6:33 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez improved to 2-2, allowing two runs on four hits and four walks in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 8-5 on Sunday. Jimenez struck out three, ending the game with a 6.25 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Jimenez returned to the rotation for the first time since May 22 and had his longest outing since lasting 7 2/3 against Washington on May 9. He allowed two runs or fewer in a start for the first time since he tossed 7 2/3 scoreless at Cincinnati on April 19.
June 13 8:26 AM PT9:26 AM MT10:26 AM CT11:26 AM ET11:26 ET15:26 GMT23:26 8:26 AM MST10:26 AM EST10:56 AM VEN19:26 UAE10:26 AM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez allowed three runs on five hits in 3.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago White Sox 10-7 on Monday. Jimenez struck out six, ending the game with a 6.71 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
June 8 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez allowed one run on one hit in 3.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Washington Nationals 6-1 on Thursday. Jimenez struck out five, ending the game with a 6.66 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
May 28 4:06 PM PT5:06 PM MT6:06 PM CT7:06 PM ET19:06 ET23:06 GMT7:06 4:06 PM MST6:06 PM EST6:36 PM VEN3:06 UAE (+1)6:06 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez allowed two runs on five hits in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Houston Astros 8-4 on Sunday. Jimenez struck out five, ending the game with a 6.66 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Alec Asher gave up six runs in two innings in his first start since replacing Jimenez in the rotation. Jimenez, who had a 7.17 ERA in nine games entering Sunday, came in after Asher's early exit.
May 23 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez allowed six runs on nine hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Minnesota Twins 14-7 on Monday. Jimenez struck out three, ending the game with a 7.17 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
May 17 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez fell to 1-2, allowing five runs on eight hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Wednesday. Jimenez struck out five, ending the game with a 6.52 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Jimenez struggled again and has allowed four runs or more in five of his eight starts. He completed six innings just twice in those games, and his spot in the rotation has to be in jeopardy.
May 9 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez allowed four runs on five hits and two walks in 7.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Washington Nationals 5-4 on Tuesday. Jimenez struck out six, ending the game with a 6.15 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
May 3 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez allowed one hit and three walks without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-2 on Wednesday. Jimenez struck out two, ending the game with a 6.58 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Jimenez was originally scheduled to start Thursday, was forced to work three innings in relief Wednesday after Kevin Gausman's early ejection.
Apr. 29 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Ubaldo Jimenez fell to 1-1, allowing seven runs - six earned - on five hits and three walks in 3.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 12-4 on Saturday. Jimenez struck out four, ending the game with a 7.43 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was the second straight start Jimenez failed to get past the fourth inning.
Apr. 19 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Jimenez rebounded from two dismal starts with a stellar outing Wednesday in Cincinnati, allowing just two hits over 7 2/3 scoreless innings with four walks and three strikeouts.
Analysis: Jimenez allowed 10 runs and 15 hits over 8 2/3 innings in his two previous starts.
Apr. 13 9:26 AM PT10:26 AM MT11:26 AM CT12:26 PM ET12:26 ET16:26 GMT0:26 9:26 AM MST11:26 AM EST11:56 AM VEN20:26 UAE11:26 AM CT-Jimenez failed to get a win in the Orioles' 12-5 victory at Boston on Wednesday, in which he was removed after permitting five runs and eight hits in 4 1/3 innings.
Analysis: Jimenez also allowed five runs over 4 1/3 innings in losing Friday's season debut to the Yankees, and was in danger of squandering a 9-0 lead in this outing. Though the erratic right-hander came on towards the end of last season, he's better off left on the waiver wire for the time being.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2006 Col 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.2 5 4 3 1 3 0 3 1.04 3.52
2007 Col 4 4 0 - 0 15 15 0 82.0 70 46 39 10 37 4 68 1.30 4.28
2008 Col 12 12 0 - 0 34 34 1 198.2 182 97 88 11 103 4 172 1.43 3.99
2009 Col 15 12 0 - 0 33 33 1 218.0 183 87 84 13 85 6 198 1.23 3.47
2010 Col 19 8 0 - 0 33 33 4 221.2 164 73 71 10 92 7 214 1.15 2.88
2011 Col 6 9 0 - 0 21 21 2 123.0 118 68 61 10 51 5 118 1.37 4.46
2011 Cle 4 4 0 - 0 11 11 0 65.1 68 43 37 7 27 0 62 1.45 5.10
2011 Tot 10 13 0 - 0 32 32 2 188.1 186 111 98 17 78 5 180 1.40 4.68
2012 Cle 9 17 0 - 0 31 31 0 176.2 190 116 106 25 95 3 143 1.61 5.40
2013 Cle 13 9 0 - 0 32 32 0 182.2 163 75 67 16 80 0 194 1.33 3.30
2014 Bal 6 9 0 - 0 25 22 0 125.1 113 68 67 14 77 0 116 1.52 4.81
2015 Bal 12 10 0 - 0 32 32 0 184.0 182 89 84 20 68 1 168 1.36 4.11
2016 Bal 8 12 1 - 1 29 25 1 142.1 150 93 86 16 72 1 125 1.56 5.44
2017 Bal 6 11 0 - 0 31 25 0 142.2 169 109 108 33 58 0 139 1.59 6.81
Career 114 117 1 - 1 329 315 9 1870.0 1757 968 901 186 848 31 1720 1.39 4.34

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 Col 2 3 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2007 Col 15 24 0 2 0 0 0 0 3 6 0 0 .083 .185 .083
2008 Col 34 67 1 3 0 0 0 0 3 28 0 0 .045 .086 .045
2009 Col 33 59 5 13 0 0 0 2 6 15 0 0 .220 .292 .220
2010 Col 33 77 5 8 0 0 0 4 2 18 0 0 .104 .127 .104
2011 Col 21 35 0 4 0 0 0 3 2 18 0 0 .114 .162 .114
2011 Tot 32 35 0 4 0 0 0 3 2 18 0 0 .114 .162 .114
2012 Cle 31 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Cle 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .000 .250 .000
2014 Bal 25 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Bal 32 8 0 2 0 0 0 2 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2016 Bal 30 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Bal 31 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .200 .200 .200
Career 330 291 12 34 0 0 0 11 17 102 0 0 .117 .166 .117

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2007 Col Total 0 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 16.0 11 4 4 1 13 1 13 2.16
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 3 1 1 1 4 0 5 1.42
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 1 1 0 4 1 6 1.80
    WS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 3 2 2 0 5 0 2 3.86
2009 Col Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 15 7 7 2 3 1 11 5.25
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 15 7 7 2 3 1 11 5.25
2016 Bal Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.0 3 3 3 1 0 0 0
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.0 3 3 3 1 0 0 0 -
Career 0 3 0 - 0 6 5 0 28.0 29 14 14 4 16 2 24 4.50

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Col Total 3 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 Col Total 2 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    LDS 2 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
Career 6 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .143 .143 .143


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1395 95 85 90.6 54.01
Curveball 111 78 71 75 4.3
Slider 490 87 77 82.3 18.97
Changeup 74 85 79 82.1 2.86
Split-Finger 452 88 80 84.3 17.5
Cut Fastball 61 92 87 89.7 2.36

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.


Home | Weather | Local | Nation Now | Traffic | Sports | Features | About | Video | Yourtake | Facebook | Submit Photos & Video | Contact Us

All rights reserved. Users of this site agree to the Terms of Service, Privacy Notice/Your California Privacy Rights, and Ad Choices