MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#50
Austin Pruitt
ERA S K
5.31 1 66
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 5-10 / 180 NFBC ADP: 732.29
Position: RPBorn: 8/31/1989 Birthplace: Plano, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 9th Round by Rays (2013)


Latest News
Sep. 26 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Austin Pruitt allowed two runs on two hits and two walks in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 6-1 on Tuesday. Pruitt did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.31 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 10:35 PM PT11:35 PM MT12:35 AM CT1:35 AM ET1:35 ET5:35 GMT13:35 10:35 PM MST12:35 AM EST1:05 AM VEN9:35 UAE12:35 AM CT-Austin Pruitt fell to 7-5, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and one walk in 2.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 13-6 on Friday. Pruitt struck out three, ending the game with a 5.16 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Austin Pruitt allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 9-0 on Saturday. Pruitt struck out five, ending the game with a 4.95 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Austin Pruitt allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Minnesota Twins 10-6 on Wednesday. Pruitt did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.09 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Pruitt was scheduled to face Boston in Friday's opener of a three-game series, but Chris Archer will start instead.
Sep. 3 10:55 PM PT11:55 PM MT12:55 AM CT1:55 AM ET1:55 ET5:55 GMT13:55 10:55 PM MST12:55 AM EST1:25 AM VEN9:55 UAE12:55 AM CT-Austin Pruitt allowed one run on four hits in 3.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-4 on Saturday. Pruitt struck out three, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)10:55 PM CT-Austin Pruitt improved to 7-4, allowing one hit and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Kansas City Royals 12-0 on Monday. Pruitt struck out six, ending the game with a 5.27 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 10:49 PM PT11:49 PM MT12:49 AM CT1:49 AM ET1:49 ET5:49 GMT13:49 10:49 PM MST12:49 AM EST1:19 AM VEN9:49 UAE12:49 AM CT-Austin Pruitt allowed five runs on seven hits - including four homers - in 3.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-6 on Wednesday. Pruitt struck out two, ending the game with a 5.76 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Pruitt gave the Rays three straight good starts to begin August, but he's been tagged for 11 runs and 18 hits in 10 2/3 innings over his past two. The rookie won't be a recommended play when he next faces playoff-hopeful Kansas City on the road Monday.
Aug. 18 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Austin Pruitt fell to 6-4, allowing six runs on 11 hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-1 on Friday. Pruitt struck out two, ending the game with a 5.37 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 5:57 PM PT6:57 PM MT7:57 PM CT8:57 PM ET20:57 ET0:57 GMT8:57 5:57 PM MST7:57 PM EST8:27 PM VEN4:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Austin Pruitt allowed three runs on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Cleveland Indians 4-3 on Sunday. Pruitt struck out three, ending the game with a 5.07 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Pruitt doesn't pick up a lot of strikeouts, though he has posted a 1.96 ERA while notching quality starts against three potential playoff teams (Houston, Boston, Cleveland). The rookie gets another challenge when he faces a strong Seattle lineup in St. Petersburg on Friday.
Aug. 8 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Austin Pruitt fell to 6-3, allowing one run on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 2-0 on Tuesday. Pruitt struck out five, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Pruitt had the misfortune of being opposed by Chris Sale. The rookie right-hander has allowed one run in 12 1/3 innings over his last two starts.
Aug. 3 9:23 AM PT10:23 AM MT11:23 AM CT12:23 PM ET12:23 ET16:23 GMT0:23 9:23 AM MST11:23 AM EST11:53 AM VEN20:23 UAE11:23 AM CT-Austin Pruitt improved to 6-2, allowing five hits and one walk over 6.1 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros 3-0 on Wednesday. Pruitt struck out three, ending the game with a 5.65 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Pruitt had the best start of his career in front of plenty of friends and family, having grown up in suburban Houston and attended the University of Houston. The last Houston native to win in his first career start at Minute Maid Park was former Yankees right-hander Nathan Eovaldi, who defeated the Astros 3-2 on June 26, 2015.
July 28 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Austin Pruitt fell to 5-2, allowing five runs on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 6-1 on Friday. Pruitt struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.63 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
June 23 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-Austin Pruitt recorded his first save, allowing no runs on three hits in 3.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 15-5 on Friday. Pruitt struck out one, ending the game with a 6.25 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
June 16 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Austin Pruitt allowed three runs - two earned - on three hits and one walk in 1.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Detroit Tigers 13-4 on Friday. Pruitt struck out two, ending the game with a 6.91 ERA and 1.81 WHIP on the season.
June 13 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Austin Pruitt allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 2.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-1 on Tuesday. Pruitt struck out two, ending the game with a 6.59 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
June 10 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Austin Pruitt improved to 5-1, allowing no hits and one walk over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 6-5 on Saturday. Pruitt did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.30 ERA and 1.82 WHIP on the season.
June 5 8:01 AM PT9:01 AM MT10:01 AM CT11:01 AM ET11:01 ET15:01 GMT23:01 8:01 AM MST10:01 AM EST10:31 AM VEN19:01 UAE10:01 AM CT-Austin Pruitt allowed three runs on four hits in 1.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-1 on Sunday. Pruitt struck out one, ending the game with a 7.61 ERA and 1.86 WHIP on the season.
May 8 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Austin Pruitt allowed three runs - one earned - on three hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-3 on Monday. Pruitt struck out three, ending the game with a 7.52 ERA and 1.97 WHIP on the season.
May 4 10:17 PM PT11:17 PM MT12:17 AM CT1:17 AM ET1:17 ET5:17 GMT13:17 10:17 PM MST12:17 AM EST12:47 AM VEN9:17 UAE12:17 AM CT-Austin Pruitt fell to 3-1, allowing five runs on seven hits in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Miami Marlins 10-6 on Wednesday. Pruitt struck out one, ending the game with a 7.85 ERA and 1.96 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 8:58 PM PT9:58 PM MT10:58 PM CT11:58 PM ET23:58 ET3:58 GMT11:58 8:58 PM MST10:58 PM EST11:28 PM VEN7:58 UAE (+1)10:58 PM CT-Austin Pruitt improved to 3-0, allowing one run on three hits in 3.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-4 on Friday. Pruitt struck out one, ending the game with a 5.71 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He's 3-0 with a 0.77 ERA over his last four appearances, including a spot start at Baltimore on Tuesday.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 TB 7 5 1 - 2 30 8 0 83.0 103 55 49 11 22 2 66 1.51 5.31
Career 7 5 1 - 2 30 8 0 83.0 103 55 49 11 22 2 66 1.51 5.31



Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 575 94 89 91.6 43.2
Curveball 200 85 76 81.1 15.03
Slider 370 90 84 87.4 27.8
Changeup 186 87 83 85.5 13.97

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.


Home | Weather | Local | Nation Now | Traffic | Sports | Features | About | Video | Yourtake | Facebook | Submit Photos & Video | Contact Us

All rights reserved. Users of this site agree to the Terms of Service, Privacy Notice/Your California Privacy Rights, and Ad Choices